2016 Summary

A summary of my flying during 2016:

My 2016 goals were:

  • Make at least one trip to the Continent
  • Visit Caernarfon or another airfield for an extended stay
  • Take part in more ‘sociable’ flying like Club fly-outs or visits to fly-ins
  • Make more use of the IMC rating to retain currency, both by carrying out flights that involve some portion in actual IMC, and carrying out both practice and real approaches into airfields that provide instrument approaches
  • Fly more consistently and regularly, reducing the need for frequent currency checks

As least maintaining consistency, I’ve again failed to make the planned trip to the Continent. Also I was unable to make more use of an aircraft as a mode of transport, taking an overnight trip somewhere.

One enjoyable part of this year’s flying was the number of flights I made with inexperienced passengers. These included trips with a couple of youngsters to Hawarden and Conington, and another flight to Wellesbourne as a prize in a Silent Auction in aid of Catrin’s school PTA. These flights were very enjoyable and rewarding, so hopefully I can continue to make such flights in the coming year.

Another highlight was a mid-week trip with David to Skegness and Fenland. Both were very nice little grass airfields, and Skegness in particular could be used as the base for a very pleasant weekend away at the seaside with the family. Maybe I can try a bit harder to make that happen in 2017.

Sadly I flew almost no time in IMC this year (a total of around 15 minutes!). Not only that, due in part to the poor end to the year, my IMC rating has now expired, and I will need to renew it before being able to log any further time in IMC as PIC.

The main positive aspect of this years flying was that I at least managed to fly regularly. Although this year’s flying hours are pretty much the same as last year’s disappointing totals, all my flights were made between 28th February and 15th October meaning there was about 4 and a half months with no flying at all! If I had managed to start and end the year with some consistent flying, I should easily have exceeded the previous year’s totals by some margin. At least I managed to get by in 2016 with a single currency check (the first flight of the year), although I do now need a further check before I can start 2017’s flying.

Goals for next year (sadly, very similar to this year’s goals!)

  • Visit Caernarfon or another airfield for an extended stay
  • Take part in more ‘sociable’ flying like Club fly-outs or visits to fly-ins
  • Renew my IMC rating, and then make more use of it to retain currency, both by carrying out flights that involve some portion in actual IMC, and carrying out both practice and real approaches into airfields that provide instrument approaches
  • Continue to fly more consistently and regularly, reducing the need for frequent currency checks

Total flying hours: 306:25
Hours P1: 228:50

Leave a Reply

