2014 Summary

A summary of my flying during 2014:

My 2014 goals were (summarised):

  • Make at least one trip to the Continent
  • Visit Caernarfon or another airfield for an extended stay
  • Continue to take part in more ‘sociable’ flying like Club fly-outs or visits to fly-ins
  • Make more use of the IMC rating to retain currency, both by carrying out flights that involve some portion in actual IMC, and carrying both practice and real approaches into airfields that provide instrument approaches (including renewal of the IMC rating)
  • Get some experience of spinning at least, with perhaps some aeros as well
  • Attempt to fly more often wherever possible
  • Get Luned to do some landing practice, and also a flight or two in the Arrow
  • Consider the addition of a Night Qualification to my license.

Yet again I’ve completed a flying year without a visit to the Continent, although I did travel as a passenger to Guernsey with David. The year as a whole was quite frustrating, with a number of relatively long periods of no flying at all, interspersed with some quite concentrated bursts of activity. This was mostly driven by personal circumstances rather than a lack of funds or desire to fly.

Also regrettably I made very little use of the IMC rating, with the exception of a Currency check with Roger in the Arrow that was almost all flown in simulated IMC, and the renewal of my IMC rating later in the year.

Although my total flying hours were slightly up on last year, I still haven’t been able to fly as much as I’d like. I’d hoped to reach 200 hours P1 this year (although that was quite an optimistic goal) as this would allow me to be the pilot on ‘charity’ flights. I’d wanted to donate such a flight to Catrin’s school, but need to try to reach this goal first.

The flight early in the year to the newly-reopened Llandow and Caernarfon with David was very enjoyable, but perhaps the most fulfilling aspect of my flying this year was gaining the tailwheel signoff in Freedom’s very nice Citabria, culminating in a very enjoyable multi-leg trip with David. I finally gained some limited experience of aeros too, which I may try to expand on next year. My most recent flight with Charlie to Dunkeswell was also a highlight, adding another flying companion for future flights.

Kemble’s lights are now fully installed, and as of early December 2014 still awaiting final approval. Next year could well be the year where a Night Rating would actually be useful for me, so I’ll definitely add that to my list of goals for the year.

Goals for next year (sadly, very similar to this year’s goals!)

  • Make at least one trip to the Continent
  • Visit Caernarfon or another airfield for an extended stay
  • Continue to take part in more ‘sociable’ flying like Club fly-outs or visits to fly-ins
  • Make more use of the IMC rating to retain currency, both by carrying out flights that involve some portion in actual IMC, and carrying out both practice and real approaches into airfields that provide instrument approaches
  • Consider the addition of a Night Qualification to my license.
  • Reach the 200 hours P1 mark to enable me to carry out ‘Charity Flights’, initially for the PTA at Catrin’s school.

Total flying hours: 257:20
Hours P1: 178: 40

One Response to “2014 Summary”

  1. flyerdavid Says:

    Hope you can make it to France this year. I’ve very much enjoyed sharing trips with you in 2014, especially when my own share-o-plane was out of action, and look forward to some interesting flights this year.

Leave a Reply

