Another one down, only one more to go

Another ground exam today, Flight Performance and Planning.

I’d been struggling with a couple of aspects of this one (or so I thought). There were some sample questions in the Confuser and AFE Question and Answers books that I just couldn’t get my head around how they’d arrived at the answer they had.

Went over these with Indy today before sitting the exam, and we both came to the conclusion that in fact I was answering them correctly, and that the answers in the books were in fact wrong! Very helpful.

As per usual, followed my normal exam routine. 1st pass through the paper answering all the ones I was sure about. This left me with 3 questions I wasn’t 100% sure about. A second pass through removed one of these, but the other two were still a little bit up in the air.

As is often the case in these things, I could immediately discount two of the four possible answers as being obviously wrong. Then it was just a question of making an educated guess as to which of the two answers was correct. One of them was particularly nasty, something along the lines of:

‘Rate of climb is defined as the altitude change in’

Two of the answers were:

c) feet per minute
d) unit time

Now, I knew that the ‘correct’ answer in this case was ‘unit time’, but I wasn’t sure if the CAA people were expecting you to give the unit that rate of climb was typically measured in. I plumped for the technically correct answer and passed it over to be marked.

Indy went through the paper, and announced the results. Another 100%!

So, just ‘Airplane Technical and Principles of Flight’ to do. This is the biggy (the book for Flight Performance and Planning runs to about 65 pages to cover a 20 question exam, whereas ‘Tech’ is more like 200 pages, for a 50 question exam). I’ll start hitting the books and try to get this one out of the way in the next few weeks.

I also have to consider doing the R/T practical, and there’s a rumour that this is going to change in the next few months to require a yearly revalidation, so I might try to do this sooner rather than later.

Leave a Reply

