I think it’s clicked…

A flight with Chris at Brize today. As far as he knew I hadn’t flown for five weeks (that was the last time I flew at Brize) so he took me out into the training area to do some GH revision and a practice circuit using a railway line as a simulated runway.

That all went well (apart from managing to forget to set the altimeter correctly, and then not noticing this before taking off), so we headed straight back into the circuit. Did 5 circuits in total, with the landings getting better and better all the time. On the third one something just clicked, especially after Chris had me reduce to 60 knots as we crossed the threshold.

From then on the flare and holdoff were pretty good. Chris then demonstrated an EFATO, and had me do one too. Relatively simple procedure (immediately lower the nose to maintain 75 knots, and then pick a field!) but I doubt it would be that simple if I hadn’t know all I needed to do was apply full power again to climb away.

Then on the last circuit he had me do a full stop on the runway, and we practiced an aborted take off. I realised that this was the first time I’d ever had to really use the brakes at Brize! Again this was relatively simple. At some point during the takeoff roll you decide you’re going to abort (or perhaps ATC tells you to) so you immediately reduce power to idle and use the brakes to come to a stop as quickly as possible.

Chris was generally complimentary about how the session went, and when I spoke to him later (after having to return to Brize with the aircraft keys!) I mentioned that I was considering switching schools. He basically said that I should think of myself first, and also said that if it weren’t for the fact that I still had a few items to tick on the Brize ‘pre-solo’ checklist, he would probably have sent me solo today!

He said it would probably be a good idea to stick with Brize until I go solo, assuming I can do it relatively soon without any more cancellations. So now I have to decide whether to cancel the sesions I’ve got for next weekend at Kemble!

I’ve got a Sat and Sun session at both Brize and Kemble booked for next weekend, and then flights at Brize the weeked after, so assuming some of them go ahead then hopefully I can get my solo sorted.

More decisions!

Total flight time today: Dual 1:05 – Solo – 0:00
Take-offs: 5 – Landings: 5

Total flight time to date: Dual 14:10 – Solo 0:00
Take-offs to date: 36 – Landings to date: 36

Leave a Reply

