So that’s what it’s like to go flying…

Weather this morning was looking decidedly miserable. First call to Kemble didn’t give much hope that I’d fly, but at about 10:45 I received a call to head over for a flight hopefully around 11:30 (flight was originally planned for 11).

Arrived at the airfield to find that the weather still looked a bit grim. Had a chat with Ron about my progress so far, with him trying to get a sense of what I’d covered and what I still remembered. He seemed happy with what he heard, and by then the transformation in the weather was unreal.

By the time we’d completed the ‘A’ check, I needed to remove my fleece because the sun had come out and it was getting warm!

First thing we had to do was taxy over for fuel. This was a new experience with my first R/T to a FISO as opposed to full ATC. Also I taxyed on grass for the first time!

Aircraft refuelled, we did the power checks and headed off to the runway to ‘take off at our discretion’. Once in the air we headed off to the West and Ron put me through my paces with some climbing and descending, turns and slow flight.

He seemed happy with what I did, because we then headed back to the circuit for some circuit practice. 4 landings in all, including my first flapless landing. No real dramas, but none of the landings were perfect. Good to know that even after a break of 5 weeks I hadn’t forgotten how to fly!

We then came back and had a quick debrief. Ron said he was happy with what I’d done, and despite a few mistakes (which are probably to be expected) there were no real causes for concern. Next time he wants to do some glide approaches, as well as more flapless and standard approaches too.

So, tomorrow I’ve got a flight with Chris at Brize. I think it’ll be my last one there for a while, and I’ll continue at Kemble. Got two flights booked at Kemble next weekend, so hopefully I can start to make some real progress.

Total flight time today: Dual 0:50 – Solo – 0:00
Take-offs: 4 – Landings: 4

Total flight time to date: Dual 13:05 – Solo 0:00
Take-offs to date: 31 – Landings to date: 31

Leave a Reply

