Variance, cockiness or just one of those things?

Ok, after things appearing to go well for a week or two, I seem to have slipped back into my old habits. Or is it just one of those things?

After the KC Club tourney on Saturday, I played in a $1000 freeroll on Paddy Power. I finished 251st of 470, which while Ok (I guess) isn’t as good as some of my recent finishes there.

So, I moved into a cash game, and never really got going. I ended up leaving the table after a couple of hours showing a small (about $1.50) loss.

Then, on Tuesday I played my usual cash game, and again never really got going. I was up for a while, but eventually lost my $20. Last night I did the same, playing two cash games, and losing $20 in each.

So, since winning £40 (about $75) on Saturday night, I’m now down just over $60.

Is this just normal variance? Am I getting over confident and slipping back into some bad habits, or am I just not on my game since the weekend?

I guess there’s only one way to find out. Next time at the table I’ll be trying to play a better game than I have been, and see if it’s just a concentration thing…

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

