Tournament play

Recently, I seem to have been having much more success in cash games than I have with tournaments.

Last night, I thought I’d try entering a higher buy in tournament ($24 + $2.40) on PaddyPower.

The entry was 206 strong, giving a prize pool of nearly $5000. First place was about $1600, with prizes going down to 27th.

I decided to try a much tighter style than I usually use in cash games, concentrating more on position when choosing my starting hands. This definitely seemed to help, as I made the final table, eventually finishing 9th, and being paid out about $130.

Later I played a couple more tournaments (a $1000 freeroll where I finished 104th of 467 and a $300 ‘turbo’ freeroll, where I finished 23rd of 283, picking up a massive 90 cents!), and tried a similar approach in both.

I might try to move back into a few more tourneys and see if I can improve my finishes by playing more conservatively in the opening stages. As with a lot of online tournaments, the play during opening stages is very variable, and big hands are frequently cracked when people call large bets with questionable hands.

We’ll see what happens…watch this space. 

Leave a Reply

