I really should learn when to stop…

One problem I consistently have when playing poker is knowing when to say ‘Enough is enough’.

 Recently, my pattern of play in cash games has been:

  1. Sit down at a table with $10
  2. Build that up to about $25
  3. Lose all that, so grab another $10
  4. Build that up to $30 or so.

If I’d stopped at stage 2, I’d make $15 profit, whereas by taking it to stage 4, I only make $10 profit (I know, retiring to live off my poker winnings is still a long way off!)

Tonight I almost cracked it. Sat down with $20 at one table, built it up to about $35, and left. Then sat down at another table with $20 a bit later, built that up to about $27 and left.

My excitement at my obviously new found poker skill meant I then stepped up a blind level, and bought in for $20. I went back to the old pattern:

  1. Buy in for $20
  2. Build it up to about $45
  3. Lose it all.

So, instead of being $22 up on the day, I’m $2 up.

Makes it all worthwhile…

Leave a Reply

